Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m doing my best to overtake the backlog of embryo entries (unwritten but photographed) and I realised that I’d never posted a dessert.  I admit that I choose cheese over chocolate any day, but sometimes even self-confessed cheesaholics have a craving for something sweet.  Flicking through my cousins extensive cook book collection, I knew it had to be Nigella’s gooey chocohotopots.

I automatically cut down the sugar by 25g, but they were still so rich that we ended up eating so much ice cream with them it was ridiculous.  Then again, I convinced myself that it was a necessity as it’s hard to find cream-based ice cream here.  Hind legs off a donkey anyone?The best thing about this dessert (second to the molten chocolate of course) is that it is so easy.  You can even make the mixture up in advance and just pop it into the oven ten minutes before you want to eat.

 

I’ve cut the sugar down even more and added a touch of chilli powder for a fiery volcanic aftertaste, as my favourite chocolate is Lindt’s chilli chocolate.  My mum allegedly sent me a package a couple of months ago, along with a tin of anchovies and some socks (the convoluted logic being that it was winter in Australia and you can’t buy socks in tropical countries?), but customs must have thought my weird tastes were too outlandish as it still hasn’t arrived…

 

 

RECIPE: Chocovolcano pots

Adapted from Nigella’s chocohotopots recipe

125g unsalted butter

125g of dark chocolate

2 eggs

100g caster sugar (reduced from 150g)*

A pinch of chilli powder (optional)

3 tbsp plain flour

INSTRUCTIONS:  Preheat the oven to 200°C.  Melt the chocolate and butter together  (I like to live dangerously so don’t bother with the whole bowl over a saucepan of simmering water malarkey, but just keep an eye on it and stir it around.  Helps if the butter and chocolate are in smallish pieces though).  In another bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar, chilli and flour and pour in the cooled molten chocolate.  Mix into a luscious gloop and spoon into four buttered ramekins or coffee cups.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until the tops are cracked but the middle is still molten and oozing with hot chocolately lava.  Eat immediately and enjoy.

